Fans of @BHDL_Blog & @PuckDrunkLove, Please Read: Goodbye. But Goodbye’s Aren’t Forever.

by Kelly Thomas Reardon

I apologize ahead of time. This will be much longer than I intend.

Effective immediately, I’m no longer the managing editor of Blackhawks Down Low and Puck Drunk Love.

Any of you reading this have no idea how difficult it was for me to not only come to that decision but to announce it and actually see it in writing. I’ve gotten so much joy out of writing for both sites and out of the people I’ve met. I’ve even met people who I consider great friends because of writing for the sites. But before I get into that, I want to explain why I’m making this decision.

As many of you know or may have seen me mention on Twitter, I recently got a new job. A new job that I have been hunting for for well over two years. It’s somewhere I can actually make a career out of my skills instead of just having “a job.” However, along with that potential comes increased responsibility and work. Instead of most of my day being free to interact with all of you, write well thought out and coherent posts, keep up on all the day’s news, and create Photoshops; I now am constantly busy with work.

And that’s not a bad thing.

Instead of staring blankly at a computer screen most of the day, I’m using my skills. I’m actually thinking (about things other than hockey, that is). I feel worn down at the end of the day, not because my metabolism is coming to a screeching halt, but because I was actually productive. It’s a good feeling. One that I’ve missed for well over 5 years.

But a result of that is stopping something that I love: Writing. Well, not stop. But severely decrease. I’m still going to write and post silliness here (ktr.posterous.com) and maybe I’ll make a few guest appearances around the blogosphere. Who knows.

All in all, I’m extremely happy that I was given the opportunity (thanks again Andrew!) to write and have an audience. I never thought in my wildest dreams that I’d have any regular readers, let alone a fairly large dedicated audience.

To those of you who regularly read my stuff and enjoyed it: Thank you. It means more than you know.

To those of you who regularly read my stuff and commented on it and discussed/argued with me about it: You’re the best. The interactions I had with people I know and complete strangers were hilarious, entertaining, thought invoking, and joyous.

To those of you who talked with me privately about my writing, encouraged me, and were honest in your criticisms, and generous with your praise: You mean the world to me. Your honesty when I wrote something shitty helped me become a better writer. Helping me to see my strengths helped me become a better writer. Forcing me to think about my opinions and stances helped me become a better writer. Thank you.

So please, stay tuned to this site here for occasional silliness with Photoshop, trolls, and the even more occasional seroius writings.

Please stay in touch.

Thank you again for reading and continuing to read.

~Kelly

